#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 18: Ask

Hebrew chai symbol
Eighteen in Hebrew – also “‘hai” = living

Eighteen is a favorite number in Jewish tradition. And multiples of eighteen too. Asking a question is also a big favorite in Jewish folklore. Who does not know the joke of this guy enquiring:

  • “Why do you always answer me with a question?” and the response without missing a beat:
  • “Why not?”

So, it feels extremely fitting that today’s blog post would combine both the number 18 as well as the possibility that you would ask me any question you want!

But because I am aware that you might feel a bit shorthanded with such a pirouette (and I checked that the word was in an English dictionary as well, and not only a French word… meaning that I am not entirely trying to cheat you out of a “real” blog post!), I want to redirect you to a past blog post I wrote answering exactly eighteen questions that you might very well have asked me about my being Jewish! So, please, click on this link to read the answers to these eighteen random facts that I revealed about my Jewishness! 

And, of course, if you are still left with burning questions you would like me to answer today, feel free, as always, to leave me a comment and I will do my best to answer the question… with a reply even though it might lead to another set of questions!

 

This year, I have committed to a daily blog in English to participate in @imabima’s project of Elul. I will dedicate my endeavor for the רפואה שלמה complete healing of   מרדכי אלעזר בן חנה מרים (Mordechai ben Chanah).

If you are new to the series and would like to receive the daily blogs in your inbox, you may click on the link below to sign up

Yes, please send me an email when you publish a new blog post!

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

2 thoughts on “#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 18: Ask”

  1. I loved reading your history and realizing we have quite a bit in common. Mainly the fact that, although baptised, I was raised in a non-religious family. But you never know how God talks to one’s heart…

Leave a Reply

