#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 10: Count

crayon
photo: lots of crayons in a box

I know some people can see numbers in colors, and it helps them feel and memorize numbers very quickly and easily. It is as if the colors are making sense for numbers to mean whatever they mean. I am surely not one of these persons and to count is not an easy task for me.

However, anyone can count on me: I keep my word even when it costs me efforts and pain.

Thinking about it, I have betrayed myself more than I have done it to others. I should remember to be able to count on me too. Working on forgiveness and accountability has brought a lot of awareness, and it is not an easy path. Most than often, there is an enormous amount of resistance.

But if I say the words aloud, I can hear them and then they count, I cannot pretend I did not say them. And then I need to stand by them and honor them and remember that I count too.

 

This year, I have committed to a daily blog in English to participate in @imabima’s project of Elul. I will dedicate my endeavor for the רפואה שלמה complete healing of   מרדכי אלעזר בן חנה מרים (Mordechai ben Chanah).

If you are new to the series and would like to receive the daily blogs in your inbox, you may click on the link below to sign up

Yes, please send me an email when you publish a new blog post!

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

2 thoughts on “#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 10: Count”

  1. The end of your text, when you write about saying things out loud, reminds me of one of the elements of the catholic reconciliation sacrament (that we commonly call “confession”). Contrarily to the Protestants who believe that you don’t need any such sacrament, given that the Almighty sees your deeds anyway, we catholics believe that saying things out loud is important. (We of course also believe that the Lord sees all, no question to that).

    Regarding the play of words with “count” (on someone and also with numbers), the linguist in me wonders if it also works in Hebrew?

    1. It is really nice to see you relate with your own religious rituals, Béné!

      As for the words in Hebrew, I am afraid they are two different roots: the Hebrew language is composed of mostly three-consonant root words that contain the essence of the word’s meaning. There are lots of play on words that are made possible because of the absence of vowels, though, so depending on how you will vocalize a word, you can always give it totally different meanings.

Leave a Reply

