#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 3: Search

bracket_fungi_search_elulgram3_5776

When the eye is too blinded by the shiny object,

When the train of thoughts is too hurried and blurred by negative emotions,

It is easy to miss out on the mysterious ways nature and the world we have been entrusted to care for work.

It is easy to get lost into the routines of the race to nowhere.

Asking oneself from times to times to search for the wonders is a healthy practice.

 

I feel so blessed to be reminded of that practice from time to time. I live in places where the world never ceases to amaze me and I do not pay attention to it as much as I would like it. I was walking on the road when I saw this strange mushroom on the floor. It seemed to have attached itself to nothing. I searched for its name in English, and it is called a “bracket fungus” or bracket fungi, I guess for their plural form.

Of course, because this is who I am, I had to go to the encyclopedia to search for more about a mushroom with such an amazing shape, size, and name! And what I learned is that their resilience is enormous and they can live for quite a long time, with this species developing beautiful multi-colored circles of color that are actually annual growth rings.

The one I encountered seems to have lived already seven years and it was the first time I noticed it!

This discovery gave me lots to think about: life and death. All those experienced during the past seven years and those inevitably I will experience for the next seven years. How do I process. How do I grieve, how do I console. Can I be like that strange mushroom, as strong and resilient as can be.

 

 

 

This year, I have committed to a daily blog in English to participate in @imabima’s project of Elul. I will dedicate my endeavor for the רפואה שלמה complete healing of   מרדכי אלעזר בן חנה מרים (Mordechai ben Chanah).

If you would like to receive the daily blogs in your inbox, I would be honored that you sign up to subscribe! You can do so if you click on the link below to sign up

Yes, please send me an email when you publish a new blog post!

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

Leave a Reply

