#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 1: Prepare

PrepareForty days before the gates will close on Yom Kippur, the shofar starts blowing to remind us that it is time to prepare. To prepare for us who live more and more in a world of attractive distractions. When we think we have the time. When we forget that we had to breathe. To pause. To stop. To take stock of our priorities. To say no to some of the shiny objects that take us away from what is truly important that eyes can’t see.

This lovely book of Psalms was given me for my birthday this year. The gift is wonderful because it is not a one time, quick read, that you hop from to another quick share. It is such a precious gift that I have kept it in sight, just to remember to open it when the time is right.

Today, Sunday, the first day of the last month of the year, was the right day: I am ready. I am ready for the next challenges that are awaiting me. I want to use the month of Elul to be prepared for the days of Awe starting in 29 short days. I do not want to run amok and feel like I wasted my energy in panic, scrambling as if I did not know in advance what was coming, the high holy days. We even had an extra month this year to do good deeds, so if we forgot, or procrastinated, it is still time. Elul is a gift that keeps giving.

This year, I have committed to a daily blog in English to participate in @imabima’s project of Elul. I will dedicate my endeavor for the רפואה שלמה complete healing of   מרדכי אלעזר בן חנה מרים (Mordechai ben Chanah).

If you would like to receive the daily blogs in your inbox, I would be honored that you sign up to subscribe! You can do so if you click on the link below to sign up

Yes, please send me an email when you publish a new blog post!

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

2 thoughts on “#BlogElul 5776 #ElulGram – Elul 1: Prepare”

    1. I love being part of this carnival! Thank you so much for being a reader (for some reason your comment was in quarantine, and it took me this long to discover and free it!)

Leave a Reply

