Roots of responsibility and wings of independence

This post is part of ROOTS – a series that originates on BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo – see what others are posting on the topic.

Roots: they are the stories that ground you, the food that returns you, the music that comforts you, and the people who know you. Everyone has roots that influence them, even if they don’t consciously know them or can’t access them.

Monday, June 17, 2013:

The original quote about giving children roots and wings referred to the “roots of responsibility and the wings of independence.” Does that change your understanding of the quote?

So, I have been looking at this week’s prompts, and they feel like work in school and I have little remembrance on how easy or difficult I was finding the exercise.

I suddenly feel very old and unable to write essays on literature, and the quote seems to be from a particular author (why is he or she not credited?) that I have no idea of, and of course, I had never heard the quote myself, so what do you expect? It is not changing my understanding from any prior understanding!

A+ Rubber Stamp on Notebook Paper
Photo Credit 1000awesomethings.com

The wings of independence: flying on your own. It is a powerful dream. Teenagers are eager to reach that moment. My youngest son is leaving in less than two weeks now, and will be flying on his own – with peers and chaperones, for safety of my mind – into unknown territories. Going to place I have never gone, experiencing new adventures, and growing responsible. We have talked about it at length, and I brought up several of my expectations that he would be respectful and responsible young man, making right choices and remembering that there are always the easy and the right way and that they are not the same.

Have I given him a seed that grew roots strong enough? Only the future will now tell me. I tried to remember my own teenage years and how lost I felt often, especially looking at what I did in hindsight. I can’t remember anything that I am proud of today even if most of the memories I have are extremely vivid and like strong foundations in my life. I just feel I made a lot of wrong choices, even though I can’t revisit those choices and imagine the “what if”s. I desperately wanted to be independent and I did not fly safely. At the time, I did not have any root to feel grounded: I returned to them much later in my life.

 

 Click for the other posts of the series

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

Leave a Reply

