Embrace who you are

Embracing who we are

I love my gym club. For many reasons. But today one of the reasons is that there is not a single day without a good story coming from attending my daily workout. Not only do I get healthy exercise, but I also get loads of inspiring stories to bring home. If only I had more time to sit and create them, you would enjoy them daily, I promise!

Anyway.

Today, my story has a lot to do with what I teach in my small business: embracing who you are.

This lady was standing as we were getting dressed back to leave after exercizing and she was staring with a look of envy at two young women discussing their workout result next to the computer, out of ear reach:

Oh I wish I was like them” whispered the lady as I was passing by, getting my shoe bag. I looked at her. She looked really sad not to be “like them“, and I wondered what she meant, she had a very good looking figure, was pretty and well kept, with a very nice outfit, she seemed healthy. I understood she wanted to have those young ladies’ firm and trim figure, the problem was that there was, maybe, thirty, oh yes, maybe thirty five years of age difference between them! Sure enough, your body shape changes, your tone and look, your general appearance, otherwise you would not be able to tell a generation from another, and definitely this lady could be the mother of the two she was so envious of!

I wanted to tell her to embrace who she was, because there was no realistic way she would ever be like them, anymore: we don’t go back in time, yet, we can keep up with looking great for our age, and probably get admiration when people mistake us for younger than our birth certificate’s official age, but I don’t believe it necessary to look like we are not really our generation, because that might bring other expectation onto our shoulders, that we would not want to go back to!

I could certainly hear her regretful sigh that time had gone, and that she was older now, but I am sure that some of the worries she had at the time she was younger had also vanished and gone by. She was simply looking at the figure, and not the whole picture. These two young ladies were certainly struggling too with some issues they were sharing with their coach, and who knows, maybe they would have been envious of the older lady who had the leisure to go back to her peaceful life at that moment when they had to run into the next stressful part of theirs. Or maybe not. Maybe the older lady’s life is not that peaceful at all and this is why she needed to unfocus and be distracted from who she really is and dream she was thirty years younger again…

Truth to the matter, I would hate being thirty years younger, especially knowing now what I have gone through those thirty years, and having to go over all these painstaking lessons again does not appeal to me at all! I like repetitions when I sense progressing, and when I sense it becomes easier, not again painful.

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

Leave a Reply

