My Top Resolutions for 2012

My New Year Resolution... Stick to Resolutions!

Five – or seven – or ten – or twelve
resolutions for 2012

What will you do differently in 2012? have you set up your goals prior to the change of the year or are you jumping in the wagon and vowing now to committ to losing weight, reading more, exercising regularly and talking to your kids at least once a week (if not a day)?

The tradition of starting anew with promises made to oneself can yield result if you want to, that is if you re-examine your goals regularly.

Last year, I don’t remember posting any resolutions publicly, but I certainly was committed and was pleased to share my accomplishments. I do have a cluttered cork board above my work area, that I clear sometimes, so that I can discover the good intentions I have been stacking there.

Here are my (four³) good resolutions for 2012

  • Getting Focused

less distraction, means scheduling, shedding, evaluating, concentrating, asserting

  • Read More to Write More

good reads, to learn creative writing in English, and improve my writing skills in a foreign language, but also continue the practice of writing in my native language, and therefore read more in French so that I do not lose my beautiful language and what is happening in the culture that I left behind shamelessly more than a decade ago.

  • Forgive Myself

to make peace with the person I have been so that I can become the person I always loved and dreamt of being.
I need to let go of a lot of anger, fear, emotions of sadness and doom, so that I can overcome the cards I was dealt, and actually prove that what I believe in can be acted upon: one can change, and there is not a single road leading to any destination and the world can be repaired one action at a time.

  • Listen Better

to hear the murmure of those who are around is not an easy task in the constant noise that we are all producing all day long.

If I choose to let go of the baggage that clutter my mind, I can hear and see better, what my growing children are experiencing in a world that I didn’t grow with, the world that they are building with enthusiasm and hope, even if I can’t understand it at first sight.

I can encourage the promise of a better future if I let them decide for themselves with a knowledge that they have built with the tools they were gifted with, and which I am proud to recognize for them. If my duty is to protect and love them, I should not chatter that much in their path, that I block it with a supposed wisdom that I don’t have. Be present is one good goal, and listening is how I can tell if I did what I was supposed to.

Each of these goals can be declined in a multitude of micro-goals and actions that will do enough resolutions for the year.

What are yours? Please let me know and comment below!

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

Leave a Reply

