R.I.P. Trey Pennington of Greenville, SC

Trey Pennington, a well known figure in social media marketing and a talented author lost his life to suicide on Sept 4, 2011 morning. As the news ripples through Twitter, sadness and questions are spreading, with talks about depression

Sure am thankful for online friends who are real friends offline, too. Love you.
treypennington
September 4, 2011
@treypennington Still don’t understand but hope you’re at peace. I’ll always be grateful for opportunities you gave me during my time in Gvl
lbstewart
September 4, 2011
Just heard about @TreyPennington’s death. Today the internet mourns. He will be missed. RIP.
AnnaOBrien
September 4, 2011
Get Some Help

May 7, 2010 by Steve Woodruff I’m a happy man. I wake up with peace in my heart, and hope for the future. Most days, anyway! For many years – decades – I lived under a dark cloud. Depression was a constant companion, so woven into my experience that I did not even know how bad off I was.
Who haven’t you caught up with lately that matters to you? Just one person. Take a moment and connect.
chrisbrogan
September 4, 2011
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-TALK (8255): Suicide hotline, 24/7 free and confidential, nationwide network of crisis centers
ButYouDontLookSick.com
September 4, 2011
To my friend Trey Pennington, one of the worst things about Social Media is we can be surrounded by so many and still feel completely alone. I’m sorry brother, I could have and should have done more. I should have pushed harder about getting together. Forgive me. May you bask in the glory of your Savior and may you feel the love only He can give. I look forward to seeing you again one day.
Jim O’Donnell
September 4, 2011
Thank You Trey Pennington

Some shocking news this morning, hearing of the unexpected death of Trey Pennington. In March, Trey and Jay asked me to be on their radio show, Open for Business. It was a great conversation about the continued popularity of blogging and Trey truly gave me the spotlight throughout the show.
With heavy heart, I send deep-felt wishes & digital hugs to @TreyPennington’s family. He was an inspiring member of #social media community.
heidicohen
September 4, 2011
Trey Pennington explaining what prompted him to go into social media. “How much  joy can I create and bring to this world?”
It’s a hard day for our community. Take care of one another. Talk to each other.
SusanGiurleo
September 4, 2011
People who commit suicide typically have thought about it a long, long time. They leave signs and often, just before they attempt…
SusanGiurleo
September 4, 2011

I am Trey’s brother and have been monitoring your posts throughout the day as I and the rest of his family have been dealing with today’s reality and planning for the days ahead.

On behalf of our family, I sincerely thank you for the deluge of love and support you have so generously offered, as well as your stories of how Trey was connected to your life and the impact he had on it. It is heartfelt and a source of warmth and comfort to us. Please continue to keep us in your thoughts and prayers. I will do the same for you as I know you have lost someone special, too.

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

16 thoughts on “R.I.P. Trey Pennington of Greenville, SC”

  1. It is a warning indeed. To kill yourself on your church steps takes alot more then just depression. I believe something is very wrong going dn here. RIP trey.

  2. Well it certainly just makes you stop and think….. I did not know Trey personally, but saw the news on Twitter today. My heart, prayers and deep regret go out to his family and friends. You are with the angels now Trey Pennington…..

  3. Trey was always fun to chat with “us Carolina folks have to stick together, whether South or North” traveling back and forth from GA to NC I would tweet him and he would tweet back “I’m waving can you see me now?” Depression is a form of suffocation where you can feel you are fighting for your next breath…I know. Talk to someone….just find someone to help you catch your breath, rather than take your own. I am praying for his family..that with time they will find peace.

  4. It’s unusual for a person to choose such a public location for a suicide. Unless they are planning to kill others too. Someone saw him with the gun and called the police. He may have intended to kill others but was thwarted.

    1. With all due respect, you are entitled to your opinion; but knowing Trey well, I cannot imagine him even contemplating taking the life of another. He lived his life putting the needs and goals of others before his own. He was a deeply spiritual man, and I can only guess that he was drawn to church in his final moments, hoping to find comfort and divine guidance to resist the urge to end his own life after months of inner pain and torment from personal issues.

      Sadly, he obviously was unable to achieve that peace and decided to end it all when the police approached. In my own opinion, I truly think his pain became so overwhelming that he simply could not go on. Like many, I regret not recognizing this and doing more to reach out. May God comfort Trey’s family as they find healing to deal with their loss.

  5. Trey is one of the most thought of men in Greenville and the State of South Carolina. He will me missed by many. My deepest Prayers are with his family.
    Trey, Rest in Peace my Friend. Chris

  6. Thank you all for visiting this blogpost. Suicide is a very complex and irrational act, that may be very difficult to understand, or emotionally process, even for people who are not closely related to the departed who died of suicide.

Leave a Reply

