Such a distressing story

I have been profoundly disturbed by the news surrounding Leiby Kletzky’s murder in Boro Park last Tuesday.

Leiby Kletzky z”l was a young boy from the hassidic community in Brooklyn, NY who had asked to be allowed to go back home from day camp and disappeared and never got to make it to his mother who came to fetch him half way. I had been aware of his disappearance on Monday night through my twitter feed, and kind of followed the news and prayers about the frantic search for him, until the grisly discovery that he had been killed by a man from the same neighborhood, another jew with obviously sanity or mental disease issues, who eventually said he panicked when he realized the scope of the search for the boy.

As a mother and as a Jew, it was very easy to relate to the horror of this event, to want to grieve with the family, and reach out with condolences to the family and to the community.

My natural inclination was to seek solace for my own distress, by reading some of the articles from authors I usually read, or websites I regularly let me guide with inspiration on the topics that are relevant to me. And I did so.

Today, I stumbled upon this article, and what the author Binyomin Ginzburg is underscoring is another trend that disturbs him. I am wondering if this is a trend, or just the fact that now it has become so easy and immediate to access to how each and everyone can publicize a reaction to distressing news. I am wondering if making one’s thoughts (or in this case, songs) public and available on the Internet is inappropriate and insensitive, or again, another attempt to alleviate some of the burden of anxiety by sharing it with everyone.

The same as I am doing by blogging this?

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

Leave a Reply

