What is curation?

Midget Gems
Image via Wikipedia

Curation allows to find gems or otherwise interesting articles in a field I am always keen to find ideas or opinions about.

In these days and age when we tend to live in the immediacy of the newsfeed, this is extremely valuable in my eyes.

I remember when I started to be an internet active user, back in those times when we were not even speaking of web.01, let alone interactivy: that was when I became an editor for the dmoz on a topic I knew all too well: autism. I chose to bring the French page to an acceptable level, and managed to painstakly increase the number of relevant links from 4 to nearly 100.

The updating process on the interface was so time consuming, I let others finally do the work (which I suspect didn’t take off, as still my “old” links are there, and not so updated after more than seven years!).

Today, we are not looking at the web in the same way. Looking for good resources is so immediately satisfied by search engines. But in the same token, our thirst for particular topics has also increased tremendously, and it is difficult to find the time to constantly keep on top of what is published.

Thanks to curation, it has become possible to find those who are passionate about a topic, and trust them to bring us very interesting finds, because their watch is accurate and it has become less time consuming to publish and share the results of what we see and appreciate.

I am exploring those tools and enjoying them:

What tools are you using?

Published by

Otir

French blogger in the US writes on cultural differences, disabilities, religion, social media and politics.

4 thoughts on “What is curation?”

  1. Hi Otir,
    Thanks for your great post about Pearltrees. I think you have really well encompassed the sense of curation. By the way, have you tried to curate a topic being a founder or a member of team yet? It is something new and a unique experience offered by Pearltrees.
    See you in Pearltrees!

    1. Thanks François, no I haven’t yet.

      I saw this new feature recently, and to be honest, my first thought was that the topics I usually choose to specialize in are not the most popular ones amongst early adopters (yes I am a free spirited one!) and that I might have some trouble finding team mates! But I’ll certainly look into it soon.

  2. Hi Otir.

    I chance upon your site as I research a lot online. I wanted to start blogging and but because of information overload, I do not know where to start. I started a small business related to social media management and I spend a lot of time online. I am a free spirited person too and maybe I could use some help or work with you. What do you say?

Leave a Reply

